Independent Democratic Conference Members to Chair Legislative Committees

eHezi Archives Leave a Comment

Klein_Jeff-headshot The Independent Democratic Conference today accepted recommendations from the Senate Majority that, in keeping with recent bi-partisan tradition, would allow them to chair legislative committees.

The IDC similarly accepted committee assignments recommended to them by the Senate Minority on Monday.

These chair appointments continue a Senate tradition of reaching across party lines and empowering non-majority members to have a more hands-on role in shaping legislation.

Today's appointments include:

Senator Diane Savino, (D-Staten Island/ Brooklyn), being named the Chairwoman of the Senate Standing Committee on Children and Families. Senator Savino began her career in public service as a caseworker in New York City’s Child Welfare Administration.

“I have seen up close the struggles that face the most vulnerable members of our society,” Senator Savino said. “As chair of the Children and Families Committee, I am committed to making sure our institutions work effectively and efficiently to provide the services and the security to those who need it the most.”

Senator David Valesky, (D-Oneida), has been named the Chairman of the Senate Standing Committee on Aging.

“The issues facing seniors are critically important, especially as the Baby Boomer population reaches retirement age,” Senator Valesky said. “As Chair of the Aging Committee, I am pleased to be able to have a role in enacting policies that will serve our seniors, their families and all of New York State.”Senator David Carlucci, (D-Rockland/ Orange), has been named Co-Chair of the Administrative Regulations Review Commission. This joint legislative commission is responsible for reviewing rules and regulations passed by state entities.

“I'm excited to continue in the tradition of my predecessor, the late Tom Morahan,” Senator Carlucci said. “Government plays an important role in protecting our residents and making sure that everyone is on a level playing field. I intend to use this appointment to ensure that government upholds this responsibility in the most efficient way possible, while also making sure that common sense prevails.”
Last year, the former Senate Majority appointed members of the then-Minority, Morahan, (R-New City), and George Maziarz, (R-Newfane), as chairmen of the Senate Mental Health and Energy committees respectively.

On Monday, the Independent Democratic Conference accepted the following committee assignments from the Senate Minority:

Senator Savino: Member of the Civil Service, Banks and Veterans committees.

Senator Valesky: Member of the Agriculture, Transportation, Banks, Cultural Affairs committees.

Senator Jeff  Klein: member of the Local Government, Cultural Affairs, Veterans, Mental Health committees

Senator Carlucci: Member of the Banks, Veterans, Higher Education and Elections committees.

Enhanced by Zemanta

eHeziIndependent Democratic Conference Members to Chair Legislative Committees

Leave a Reply

This comment will be displayed anonymously. Your name and email address will not be published.

Comments that are off topic will be removed. If you want a topic to be covered, email me at:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.